NZEALS offers several high-value awards for members wishing to further their professional development

We now have generous support for several of our awards. 

Dame Herbison Scholarship

The Dame Jean Herbison scholarship is to enable a financial member of NZEALS to undertake study and / or a programme of visits to education-related institutions in New Zealand or overseas.


Congratulations to Mel Taylor, Golden Sands School, Papamoa, on receiving the 2016 award for her research on Leadership of Communities of Learning.


The award is currently on hold until future sponsorship funding is confirmed

President's Research Award

NZEALS offers an annual research award of $2,000 to recognise work that contributes to the development of knowledge in the field of educational leadership.  Research by emerging researchers and by leaders of priority learners is encouraged.

NZEALS Canterbury Emerging Leader Scholarship

Awarded to emerging leaders in Canterbury to support their research, development or postgraduate study

Visiting Scholar 

A Visiting Scholar is selected annually, as a person who is highly recognised for their contribution to education. Visiting Scholars present their work at NZEALS Branches throughout New Zealand, offering insight on national and international educational leadership issues.

Fellow of NZEALS

An NZEALS Fellowship represents the highest honour able to be bestowed by NZEALS on a member of the society. As such, the Fellowship honours members who have played a significant and meritorious part in the development of quality educational leadership and administration in New Zealand.

Meritorious Service Award

Awarded to members who have carried out substantial service to NZEALS


In 2015 the award was made by NZEALS' Waikato branch to long standing member and president for the past four years, Dr Rachel McNae.


Rachel models exemplary leadership in her current role as Branch President. Throughout her time in this role, she has worked tirelessly to connect school leaders and education colleagues to the branch and to explore innovative branch activities.

Branches: Auckland |  Bay of Plenty |  Waikato |  Taranaki |  Wellington |  Nelson |  Canterbury |  Otago