Visiting Scholar

NZEALS National Council selects a Visiting Scholar annually who is highly recognised as someone who contributes significantly to education. The Visiting Scholar presents his/her work at the branches throughout New Zealand. Those selected have a distinguished career in education, nationally and/or internationally. Visiting Scholars since 2001 are as follows.

  • 2016: Dr Rachel McNae

    Associate Professor of Educational Leadership and Director of Te Puna Rangahau o Te Whiringa - The Centre for Educational Leadership Research at the University of Waikato. Three workshops were offered - Coming to know: Developing the insight to flourish in educational leadership through appreciative inquiry, In their wor[l]ds: Engaging voice to enhance student learning in socially just ways, When are we leading at our best - Engaging student voice in leadership development with student leaders.

    Click for more details


  • 2015: Dr Vicki Carpenter and the contributors to Twelve Thousand Hours: Education and Poverty in Aotearoa New Zealand.

    In recognition of their significant work in investigating and presenting issues of national importance, NZEALS Council invited the writing and editing team of Twelve Thousand Hours: Education and Poverty in Aotearoa New Zealand to be collectively its Visiting Scholar for 2015.


  • 2014: Dr Ross Notman

    Associate Professor and Director of the Centre for Educational Leadership and Administration (CELA) at the University of Otago. Three seminars were offered: What makes a successful school principal?, Leading high needs schools in New Zealand: Challenging cases and a hands-on workshop on the topic of Values-based leadership.


  • 2013: Dr Kate Thornton

    Senior Lecturer in the School of Education Policy and Implementation at Victoria University of Wellington. Two alternative presentations were offered, based on Kate's recent research: The educational leadership role of mentors and leadership practice in New Zealand early childhood services.


  • 2012: Dr Ann Briggs

    Emeritus Professor of Educational Leadership, Newcastle University, UK. Three seminars were offered, drawing on Ann's recent research and her professional work with educational leaders: Multiple Leadership; Growing our Leaders; Research Aware Leaders.


  • 2011: Professor Stephen Jacobson

    Professor of Educational Administration in the Graduate School of Education at the University at Buffalo (UB), State University of New York. Sustainable School Leadership Success (drawing from the International Successful School Principalship Project).


  • 2010: Dr Graham Smith

    CEO of Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiarangi in Whakatane. Distinguished Professor Smith is a prominent Maori educationalist who has been at the forefront of alternative Maori initiatives in the education field and beyond.


  • 2009: Professor Christopher Day

    University of Nottingham, UK


  • 2008: Dr Narottam Bhindi

    Director of The Australian Centre for Educational Leadership at Wollongong University, Adjunct Professor in Strategic Leadership at the University of Fiji, and is currently Visiting Professor at AUT. "Sliding Through The Mud: Sources & Consequences of Impoverished Leadership"


  • 2007: Anne Milne

    Auckland, NZ: “Educational whitewash! The realities for marginalised learners in our education system in Aotearoa/New Zealand.”


  • 2006: Dr. Manulani J Meyer

    Hawaii, USA: "Indigenous Hermeneutics: Leadership and World Awakening"


  • 2005: Dr. Hirini Mead

    Wellington, NZ


  • 2004: Dr. John Hinchcliff

    Auckland, NZ


  • 2003: Dr Margy Whalley

    Pen Green Centre for Under 5's & Their Families, UK


  • 2001: Dr. D. Annie Henry and Dr. Mike Milstein

    New Mexico, USA: “Resiliency: A Path to School Improvement”